Mota Lava

This article is also available in : French English


Mota Lava:

Mota Lava is the third largest of the Banks Islands, and has an area of ​​33 km².

This island is elongated along a NE-SO axis corresponding to the intensely eroded volcanic chains.

It is composed of at least five basaltic stratovolcans of the Pleistocene and surmounted by two well-preserved pyroclastic cones from the lower Pleistocene to the Holocene. These are the Tuntog and Vetman summits.

Tuntog (243 m) is a pyroclastic composite cone at the SW end of the island with a crater at its 500 m wide top.

Vetman (387m), in the center of the island, is a pyroclastic cone truncated by a broken crater to the south.

Moltav, 411 m above sea level, is the rest of an ancient volcanism lined up along the central ridge of the island 12 km long and NE-SW axis.

Other summits of the island are, Atug (cone of 207 m), Timbeg (cone of 373 m), Wingol (stratovolcano of 411 m).

The last eruptions date back 300,000 years.
(Smithsonian Institu - John Seach)

(Back to the list of volcanoes of Vanuatu)


Docteur en pharmacie Biologiste Médical

Leave a Reply

You have to agree to the comment policy.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

 eget ultricies ut Donec ipsum commodo in felis